Andrew AbeytaAndrew Abeyta
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. North Dakota State University

Armitage Room 342
(856) 225 – 2986
Email: andrew.abeyta@rutgers.edu
Web: abeyta.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – M, W 11a-1p or by appt

Research Interests: Focused broadly on two psychological needs that are fundamental to adaptive functioning: the need to belong and the need for meaning in life. Specifically, Dr. Abeyta’s interests lie in understanding the affective, cognitive, and motivational underpinnings of these needs with the goal of identifying psychological experiences/factors that contribute to their satisfaction. Dr. Abeyta has published research on how nostalgia, a positive emotional experience that typically involves reminiscing about cherished past experiences, energizes people’s efforts to establish meaningful interpersonal relationships, and he currently pursuing research on how nostalgia can help people overcome loneliness.

Sarah Allred

Sarah Allred
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of Washington

Armitage Room 309
(856) 225-6141
Email: srallred@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: allred.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – by appt

Research Interests: Color perception and color memory, Bayesian modeling of perception, natural image recognition, philosophy of perception, neural basis of visual object recognition, and evolutionary psychology.

Kristin AugustKristin August
Associate Professor of Psychology and Director of Health Sciences
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

Armitage 4th Floor – 401 (Heath Science)
(856) 225-6431
Email: kristin.august@rutgers.edu
Web: kristinaugust.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – by appt.

Research Interests: Interpersonal processes and health; physical and mental health in later life; psychosocial aspects of chronic disease management; racial/ethnic disparities in health.

Courtenay CavanaughCourtenay Cavanaugh
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. California School of Professional Psychology at Alliant International University

Armitage Room 307
(856) 225-6120
Email: cocavana@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: cocavana.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2018 M 9a-11a or by appointment

Research Interests: The impact of violence on women and children’s health and development including risk and resilience for psychiatric disorders, substance abuse, and HIV/STIs.

daniel-laurenrgb-15

Lauren Daniel
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Drexel University

Armitage Room 348
(856) 225-6535
Email: lauren.daniel@rutgers.edu
Web: laurendaniel.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – M/W 12:30-1:30p or appt.

Research Interests: Research Interests: Impact of Sleep on Health and Quality of Life in Children with Chronic Health Conditions, Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology, Behavioral Sleep Medicine.

Sean Duffy
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of Chicago

Armitage Room 345
(856) 225-6204
Email:  seduffy@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Web:   duffy.camden.rutgers.edu/
Office Hours – Spring 2019, T, Th 5pm in B22 or by appt.

Research Interests: Experimental psychology: Memory, Self, and Cultural Identity; Spatial reasoning; Humor; Environments. 

JDJamie Dunaev
Assistant Teaching Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University – Camden

Armitage Fourth Floor – Health Sciences
(856) 225-6732
Email: Jamie.Dunaev@rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – Free Period – 3:30-5:30p, W 11:-12:30p, 3:30-4:30p, Th free period, 3:30p-4:30p or appt

Daniel HartDaniel Hart
Distinguished Professor of Psychology, Graduate Program Director and Director of the Institute for Effective Education
Ed.D. Harvard University

Room 300 (325 Cooper Street)
(856) 225-6438
Email: hart@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: hart.camden.rutgers.edu

Office hours – Spring 2019, W 3p-5p or by appt.

Research Interests: Cognitive, civic, moral, and personality development in childhood and adolescence, particularly in urban contexts.

Rufan LuoRufan Luo
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. NYU

Armitage Room 310
(856) 225 – 6819
Email: rufan.luo@rutgers.edu
Web:
Office Hours – Spring 2019

Research interests:  research aims to understand how children’s home learning experiences and parent-child interactions influence and support early language and cognitive development, with a focus on children and families from socioeconomically, culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. In her research, she asks questions such as, how do parents help infants and young children learn language and knowledge through day-to-day interactions? Do parents from diverse socio-cultural backgrounds interact with their children differently?  Also interested in developing early interventions for children and caregivers from at-risk families, using the framework of community-based participatory research (CBPR). 

Charlotte MarkeyCharlotte Markey
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Armitage Fourth Floor Health Sciences
(856) 225-6332
Email: chmarkey@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: markey.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – by appointment

Research Interests: Eating behaviors, body image, dieting, and obesity risk; romantic partners’ influence on health; relations between personality and health. 

Lisa Payne, PhDLisa Payne
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Drexel University College of Medicine

Armitage Room 347
(856) 225-6378
Email: lisa.payne@rutgers.edu
Web:
Office hours – Apring 2019 

Research Interests: How can we suppress distraction in order to pay better attention and improve memory? Why do we have such a difficult time ignoring printed or spoken words, especially words spoken by our own inner voice? Does it help to know where or when or what kind of irrelevant information will appear in our environment? Investigation into these interactions of attention and short-term memory include behavioral tests and EEG.

Ira RosemanIra Roseman
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Yale University

Armitage Room 306
(856) 225-6341
Email: ira.roseman@rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~roseman
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – W 8:30a – 9a, Th 11a – 11:30a or by email 

Research Interests: Causes of emotions, emotional responses, emotion regulation, emotional disorders, political psychology, belief systems, human motivation, cross-cultural psychology. 

RobrechtRobrecht van der Wel, Undergraduate Director
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University.

Armitage Room 311
(856) 225-6485
Email: r.vanderwel@rutgers.edu
Web: vanderwel.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Spring 2019 – 

Major Research Interests: Psychological mechanisms underlying everyday physical actions, motor control, object manipulation, sequence planning, interpersonal action planning and coordination (joint action), belief representations in action, and the sense of agency. 

Bill WhitlowBill Whitlow, Chairperson
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Yale University

Armitage Room 346
(856) 225-6334
Email: bwhitlow@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: billwhitlow.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – spring 2019

Research interests: Theories of learning complex discriminations; computational models of learning and memory; science education; beliefs and health; evolution of memory. 

Emeritus (Retired) Faculty

Beth AdelsonBeth Adelson
Ph.D. Harvard University
Email: adelson@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: www.crab.rutgers.edu/~adelson/

Research interests: Focuses on creative insight in scientific problem-solving and the resolution of conflict. 

Mary BravoMary Bravo
Ph.D. Northwestern University

Email: mbravo@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~mbravo/home.html
Office hours by email

Research Interests: Visual processes involved in perceptual organization. 

Luis GarciaLuis Garcia
Ph.D. Kansas State University
Email: lgarcia@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: fas.camden.rutgers.edu/2012/09/17/dr-luis-garcia/

Research Interests: Social cognitions about sexuality. 

Bill TuckerBill Tucker
Ph.D. Princeton University
Email: btucker@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: tucker.camden.rutgers.edu/

Research interests: Ethics in science; the relations of social policy and psychological research; the nature of research on racial differences. 

Michael WoganMichael Wogan
Ph.D. University of North Carolina
Email: mwogan@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~mwogan/

Research interests: Clinical psychology and the interface between Psychology and Law.

Part-Time Lecturers

Stephen Bernardini, stephen.bernardini@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Gianna Bowler,  gianna.bowler@rutgers.edu
Office hours online Tu, Th 2-3p

Tina Brand
, tbrand@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Eamon Caddigan, eamon.caddigan@rutgers.edu 
Armitage Hall 
Office hours by appointment

Laura Collins, laura.collins@rutgers.edu
Honors College
Office hours by appointment

Anjennett Corry, ars318@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Michelle Dixon Palmer
, michelle.dixon@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Ferne Friedman-Berg, ferne.friedmanberg@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Katherine Glick, katherineglick@gmail.com
Armitage Hall Room 317
Hours by appointment

Sara Fiorot, sara.fiorot@rutgers.edu
Armitage Hall Room 314
Office hours M, W 2p-3p or by appointment

Steven Katz, katsteven@gmail.com
Armitage Room 318 
Office Hours Spring 2019 – W 3:15p – 3:45p or by appt. 

Alex Konkel, ak1338@camden.rutgers.edu 
Armitage Room 314
Office hours 

Barbara Leavy
, bgleavy@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 318
Office hours Fall 2018 – T 11:00-12:30p or by appointment

Christopher Maute, cm123@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Angela C. Meluso-Scafidi
, acmeluso@gmail.com
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Ines Meier, ines.meier@rutgers.edu
Childhood Studies, Artis Building (4th and Cooper), Rm 205.
Office hours T, Th 9:30-10:30 am or by appointment

Theresa Murzyn, PhD theresamurzyn@gmail.com
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Autumn Nanassy, adn34@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Alexandra O’Donnell, Alexandra.Odonnell@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Debra Park, debpark@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours F 11a-12p

Elena Ragusa, elena.ragusa@rutgers.edu 
Office hours by appointment

Jessica Schulz
, jschulz2@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Brianna Soreth, briannasoreth@gmail.com , bos7@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Lorie Sousa, lorie.sousa@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment, email only

Tara Woolfolk, woolfolk@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment, online only T 4-5p, Th 2-3p

Emily Wood, ewood@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours: by appointment