Andrew AbeytaAndrew Abeyta
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. North Dakota State University

Armitage Room 342
(856) 225 – 2986
Email: andrew.abeyta@rutgers.edu
Web:
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – M and T 2-3p or by appointment

Research Interests: Focused broadly on two psychological needs that are fundamental to adaptive functioning: the need to belong and the need for meaning in life. Specifically, Dr. Abeyta’s interests lie in understanding the affective, cognitive, and motivational underpinnings of these needs with the goal of identifying psychological experiences/factors that contribute to their satisfaction. Dr. Abeyta has published research on how nostalgia, a positive emotional experience that typically involves reminiscing about cherished past experiences, energizes people’s efforts to establish meaningful interpersonal relationships, and he currently pursuing research on how nostalgia can help people overcome loneliness.

Sarah Allred

Sarah Allred
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of Washington

Armitage Room 309
(856) 225-6141
Email: srallred@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: allred.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017

Research Interests: Color perception and color memory, Bayesian modeling of perception, natural image recognition, philosophy of perception, neural basis of visual object recognition, and evolutionary psychology.

Kristin AugustKristin August
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

Armitage Room 347
(856) 225-6431
Email: kristin.august@rutgers.edu
Web: kristinaugust.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – M 1-2p (Health Psych), W 4:30-5:30p (Grad RM) or by appointment

Research Interests: Interpersonal processes and health; physical and mental health in later life; psychosocial aspects of chronic disease management; racial/ethnic disparities in health.

Mary BravoMary Bravo
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Northwestern University

Email: mbravo@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~mbravo/home.html
Office hours by email

Research Interests: Visual processes involved in perceptual organization.

Courtenay CavanaughCourtenay Cavanaugh
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. California School of Professional Psychology at Alliant International University

Armitage Room 307
(856) 225-6120
Email: cocavana@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: cocavana.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – T and Th 2-3p or by appointment

Research Interests: The impact of violence on women and children’s health and development including risk and resilience for psychiatric disorders, substance abuse, and HIV/STIs.

J J CutuliJ.J. Cutuli
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota

Armitage Room 308
(856) 225-6619
Email: jc1645@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Web: works.bepress.com/jj_cutuli/
Sabbatical leave – Fall 2017 – Office hours by appointment

Research Interests: Resilience in development: Processes of positive adaptation and maladaptation among children and families who experience adversity; Multiple levels of analysis.

daniel-laurenrgb-15

Lauren Daniel
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Drexel University

Armitage Room 348
(856) 225-6535
Email: lauren.daniel@rutgers.edu
Web: laurendaniel.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – M and W 2 – 3p or by appointment

Research Interests: Research Interests: Impact of Sleep on Health and Quality of Life in Children with Chronic Health Conditions, Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology, Behavioral Sleep Medicine.

Sean Duffy
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of Chicago

Armitage Room 345
(856) 225-6204
Email:  seduffy@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Web:   duffy.camden.rutgers.edu/
Office Hours – Fall 2017

Research Interests: Experimental psychology: Memory, Self, and Cultural Identity; Spatial reasoning; Humor; Environments. 

JDJamie Dunaev
Assistant Teaching Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University – Camden

Armitage Room 343
(856) 225-6732
Email: Jamie.Dunaev@rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017

Daniel HartDaniel Hart
Distinguished Professor of Psychology, Graduate Program Director and Director of the Institute for Effective Education
Ed.D. Harvard University

Room 300 (325 Cooper Street)
(856) 225-6438
Email: hart@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: hart.camden.rutgers.edu

Office hours – Fall 2017 – M and T – 4-5p or by appointment 

Research Interests: Cognitive, civic, moral, and personality development in childhood and adolescence, particularly in urban contexts.

Rufan LuoRufan Luo
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. NYU

Armitage Room 310
(856) 225 – 6819
Email: rufan.luo@rutgers.edu
Web:
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – T 12-2p or by appointment

Research interests:  research aims to understand how children’s home learning experiences and parent-child interactions influence and support early language and cognitive development, with a focus on children and families from socioeconomically, culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. In her research, she asks questions such as, how do parents help infants and young children learn language and knowledge through day-to-day interactions? Do parents from diverse socio-cultural backgrounds interact with their children differently?  Also interested in developing early interventions for children and caregivers from at-risk families, using the framework of community-based participatory research (CBPR).

Charlotte MarkeyCharlotte Markey
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Armitage Room 318
(856) 225-6332
Email: chmarkey@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: markey.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – Th 1-2p or by appointment

Research Interests: Eating behaviors, body image, dieting, and obesity risk; romantic partners’ influence on health; relations between personality and health.

Naomi MarmorsteinNaomi Marmorstein
Professor of Psychology and Psychology Department Chair
Ph.D. University of Minnesota

Armitage Room 344
(856) 225-6434
Email: marmorst@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: marmorstein.camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours – Fall 2017 – F 11:30-12:20p or by appointment

Research Interests: Associations between internalizing disorders (depression and anxiety) and externalizing behavior and substance use disorders among youth.

Ira RosemanIra Roseman
Professor of Psychology, Undergraduate Director
Ph.D. Yale University

Armitage Room 306
(856) 225-6341
Email: ira.roseman@rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~roseman
Office Hours – Fall 2017 – W 8:30 – 9:15a, Th 5:00-5:45p or by appointment

Research Interests: Causes of emotions, emotional responses, emotion regulation, emotional disorders, political psychology, belief systems, human motivation, cross-cultural psychology.

Robrecht van der WelRobrecht van der Wel
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University.

Armitage Room 311
(856) 225-6485
Email: r.vanderwel@rutgers.edu
Web: vanderwel.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017

Major Research Interests: Psychological mechanisms underlying everyday physical actions, motor control, object manipulation, sequence planning, interpersonal action planning and coordination (joint action), belief representations in action, and the sense of agency.

Bill WhitlowBill Whitlow
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D. Yale University

Armitage Room 346
(856) 225-6334
Email: bwhitlow@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: billwhitlow.camden.rutgers.edu
Office Hours – Fall 2017

Research interests: Theories of learning complex discriminations; computational models of learning and memory; science education; beliefs and health; evolution of memory.

Emeritus Faculty

Beth AdelsonBeth Adelson
Ph.D. Harvard University
Email: adelson@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: www.crab.rutgers.edu/~adelson/

Research interests: Focuses on creative insight in scientific problem-solving and the resolution of conflict.

Luis GarciaLuis Garcia
Ph.D. Kansas State University
Email: lgarcia@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: fas.camden.rutgers.edu/2012/09/17/dr-luis-garcia/

Research Interests: Social cognitions about sexuality.

Bill TuckerBill Tucker
Ph.D. Princeton University
Email: btucker@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: tucker.camden.rutgers.edu/

Research interests: Ethics in science; the relations of social policy and psychological research; the nature of research on racial differences.

Michael WoganMichael Wogan
Ph.D. University of North Carolina
Email: mwogan@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: crab.rutgers.edu/~mwogan/

Research interests: Clinical psychology and the interface between Psychology and Law.

Part-Time Lecturers

Stephen Bernardini, stephen.bernardini@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Gianna Bowler,  gbowler@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours online Tu, Th 2-3p

Tina Brand
, tbrand@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Laura Collins, laura.collins@rutgers.edu
Honors College
Office hours by appointment

Michelle Dixon, michelle.dixon@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Ferne Friedman-Berg, ferne.friedmanberg@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Thomas Haworth, thaworthphd@gmail.com
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Alex Konkel, ak1338@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours Fall 2017 – M 5-6p 

Barbara Leavy, bgleavy@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours Fall 2017 – T 12:30-1:30p, Th 12:30-1p or by appointment

Christopher Maute, cm123@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Angela C. Meluso-Scafidi
, acmeluso@gmail.com
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Ines Meier, ines.meier@rutgers.edu
Childhood Studies, 405-7 Cooper St.
Office hours by appointment

Theresa Murzyn, tmurzyn@rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Autumn Nanassy, adn34@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Alexandra O’Donnell, Alexandra.Odonnell@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Debra Park, debpark@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours by appointment

Elena Ragusa, elena.ragusa@rutgers.edu 
Office hours by appointment

Jessica Schulz
, jessica.schulz@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment

Brianna Soreth, briannasoreth@gmail.com
Office hours by appointment

Lorie Sousa, lorie.sousa@rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment, email only

Tara Woolfolk, woolfolk@camden.rutgers.edu
Office hours by appointment, online only

Emily Wood, ewood@camden.rutgers.edu
Armitage Room 314
Office hours: 

Douglas Zacher, douglasnzacher@gmail.com
Office hours Fall 2017 – M 10a, W 10a